? Vehicle Registration Renewal

Renewal Fees

Registration renewal fees for different vehicle types are based on the age of the vehicle and are explained in detail on the Vehicle Title and Registration page.

  • Organ Donor, Traumatic Brain Injury Awareness, and Shared-Use Path Donations: After you enter and verify your vehicle information, you may choose to donate to the Organ Donor Awareness and Education efforts, the Traumatic Brain Injury Education and Support program, and/or the Shared-Use Path Project. Contributions must be entered in whole dollar amounts of any value for the Organ Donor and Traumatic Brain Injury programs. Contributions for Shared-Use Path Project are automatically set to a $5.00 donation.
  • Shared-Use Path: In the 2017 Legislative Session, HB225 revised the Montana Footpath and Bicycle Trail Act of 1975 by establishing an optional fee on motor vehicle registrations. The monies collected provide funding for the Montana Department of Transportation to manage the maintenance, repair and establishment of shared-use paths including the structures and processes necessary for bicycle and pedestrian safety education. A "shared-use path" means a multiuse path that is separated from motorized vehicular traffic by an open space, pavement markings, or a barrier within a highway right-of-way and that is usable for transportation purposes by pedestrians, runners, bicyclists, skaters, equestrians, and other nonmotorized users. As defined, a sidewalk is not a shared-use path.
  • State Parks - $9.00 for State Parks is required under Montana Code Annotated 61-3-321(19) and is automatically included in the amount due for all light vehicle registrations. To opt out of paying $9.00 for State Parks, check the opt-out box on the Vehicle Information page of this online renewal service, or go to your County Treasurer's Office and certify that you do not intend to use the vehicle to visit State Parks and/or Fishing Access Sites. Form MV119 is also available for opting out.

Fee Summary

On the Renewal List page, the cost of registering one or more vehicles online displays as follows:

  • Renewal amount due - the registration fee due for each vehicle. This amount includes postage to mail each registration renewal and any amount you opted to contribute to the Organ Donor, Traumatic Brain Injury, and Shared-Use Path Programs.
  • To renew online - the total cost due when purchasing through the online service includes online transaction fees.

This online service is provided by a third party working in partnership with the state of Montana. The "to renew through mt.gov" amount includes funds used to develop, maintain, and enhance the state's official web portal, mt.gov.

Payment Method

Public users may pay by:

  • Credit or Debit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover & American Express).
  • Electronic Check (eCheck).